Sports News

Horse numbers for all 20 entries

7c46424a 4c33 43d0 a289 b53e17931ef2 Kentucky derby traditions


The 2024 Kentucky Derby is nearly here.

Race officials drew post positions for the 20 participants on Saturday, officially assigning each horse to its starting gate. The “Greatest Two Minutes in Sports” will get underway for the 150th time in its history on Saturday, May 4 at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky.

On paper, each post of the 20 mathematically has a 5% chance to win each race. In reality, post 5 has historically been one of the best starting positions, with 10 winners starting from there. Conversely, post 17 has never produced a winner in 44 races.

Last year’s winner, Mage, started from post 8 and was the ninth winner in Kentucky Derby history to start from there.

Here’s which number each of the 20 horses will wear on Saturday.

2024 KENTUCKY DERBY: 2024 Kentucky Derby: Predictions, odds, time and date for 150th Run for the Roses

2024 Kentucky Derby horse numbers

Each horse after No. 8 wears a different number than its post due to (horse No. 9) Encino’s scratch from the race, announced Tuesday.

Number (Post) Horse Trainer Jockey
1 (1) Dornoch Danny Gargan Luis Saez
2 (2) Sierra Leone Chad Brown Tyler Gaffalione
3 (3) Mystik Dan Kenny McPeek Brian Hernandez Jr.
4 (4) Catching Freedom Brad Cox Flavien Prat
5 (5) Catalytic Saffie Joseph Jr. José Ortiz
6 (6) Just Steel D. Wayne Lukas Keith Asmussen
7 (7) Honor Marie Whit Beckman Ben Curtis
8 (8) Just a Touch Brad Cox Florent Geroux
10* (9) T O Password Daisuke Takayanagi Kazushi Kimura
11 (10) Forever Young Yoshito Yahagi Ryusei Sakai
12 (11) Track Phantom Steve Asmussen Joel Rosario
13 (12) West Saratoga Larry Demeritte Jesús Castañón
14 (13) Endlessly Michael McCarthy Umberto Rispoli
15 (14) Domestic Product Chad Brown Irad Ortiz Jr.
16 (15) Grand Mo the First Victor Barboza Jr. Emisael Jaramillo
17 (16) Fierceness Todd Pletcher John Velazquez
18 (17) Stronghold Phil D’Amato Antonio Fresu
19 (18) Resilience Bill Mott Junior Alvarado
20 (19) Society Man Danny Gargan Frankie Dettori
21 (20) Epic Ride John Ennis Adam Beschizza
Note: Epic Ride replaces Encino following the latter horse’s scratch.

Kentucky Derby 2024: TV, streaming and where to watch

  • When: Saturday, May 4
  • Coverage starts: 2:30 p.m. ET
  • Post time: 6:57 p.m. ET
  • Where: Churchill Downs, Louisville Kentucky
  • Cable TV: NBC
  • Streaming: Peacock; YouTube TV; fuboTV

HOW TO WATCH: See the 2024 Kentucky Derby with a subscription to Peacock

We occasionally recommend interesting products and services. If you make a purchase by clicking one of the links, we may earn an affiliate fee. USA TODAY Network newsrooms operate independently, and this doesn’t influence our coverage.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button